we have sprouts!

Untitled
(radish sprouts)

The garden has finally sprouted, and I’m so excited about it. I was starting to get discouraged, because we didn’t have any sprouts in the time frame suggested by the seed bags, and I was getting worried that maybe our garden would never grow. Everyday I’d wake up and run down to the garden, hoping to see just one green leaf breaking the soil–but there weren’t any.

And now–there are! I was so excited when I saw the first ones, that I ran up the hill to the house, flailing my arms and yelling, perhaps too loudly judging from the looks of passing mountain-bikers, “We have sprouts! We have sprouts!” And not only do we have sprouts, but also green strawberries. I’m psyched. So far, the radishes, carrots, peas, and bok choy have sprouted. Nothing yet from the spinach or zucchini. I don’t have too high of hopes for the zucchini, because the other day there were suspiciously weed-like plants growing right where I planted the zucchini, and I pulled them all up.  Ah well. I don’t like zucchini anyway.

As you can see from the pictures, we were a bit overzealous in planting the radish seeds–and this picture is after I had already pulled up 3/4 of them. It’s kind of sad weeding out seeds that have finally sprouted, but I guess its necessary for the plants to actually grow.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled
(boy choy sprouts)

Leave a Reply

