the gardening journey begins

Untitled

Reed and I planted in our garden today, and I am so excited about it. It’s not a huge secret that I love food, and especially locally grown, healthful, fresh food. So starting a garden is something that gets me feeling good about life. To be honest, I’m not overly optimistic about what our results will be, as we’ve never gardened before, and the Colorado mountains are not exactly known as a fertile, plant-growing paradise. Not to mention, I’ve killed almost every plant I’ve ever bought. : ) But I’m hopeful! Maybe I can become a real gardener with a bit of hard work.

Reed built me a garden in our front yard, that’s about 8×6–not too big, but just perfect for us. I researched some of the easiest/most likely to succeed vegetables for Colorado, and planned accordingly. We planted strawberry, arugula, and tomato plants, and spinach, swiss chard, carrot, zucchini, chive, and radish seeds. I’ll chronicle our progress here on the blog. Wish us luck! : )

Untitled

Leave a Reply

